That’s the view of former Liverpool star Steve Nicol.
The Reds put themselves in a good position for the second leg after a goal either side of half time at Anfield.
However, their night was nearly ruined with just ten minutes to play, as Salah escaped punishment for a controversial challenge on Danilo.
After the Egyptian put out his foot to try and poke the ball past the defender, it was nipped away from him and he ended up going into the Brazilian’s shin.
Salah escaped punishment for the tackle, but fans were left surprised by the fact that referee Antonio Miguel Mateu Lahoz didn’t even give a booking after consulting VAR.
Speaking on ESPN FC, Nicol believes Lahoz had made the wrong call.
“I would agree with you 100 per-cent,” he said, about Salah wrongly escaping punishment.
“I thought it was a red.
“Fortunately, Mo Salah was not going for the player.
“He completely misjudged where the ball was and went over the top of him.
“I don’t think he had any intention whatsoever of catching the player.
“But it was reckless, it endangered the opponent, and it should have been a red, whether he means it or not.”
Nicol was not alone in that opinion, as former referee Phil Dowd told BT Sports that he felt it was a red card.
“I was under the impression they were looking at it but didn’t think it was worthy of an official review,” he said.
“I’ve watched it again three or four times and my opinion is it was endangering the safety of an opponent and should have been a red card.
“I heard the other way, was it just reckless? But the way Salah comes in, he’s over the top of the ball, he catches the player, and I think that should have been a red card.
“I’m under the belief it has to be a red card. For me, I thought they would have asked the referee to review the situation and him to have a look himself.”