Facebook wants YOU to send in naked photos of yourself – but there’s a very good reason | Tech | Life & Style


is calling on British users to send in naked photos in an effort to stop revenge porn.

The photos will get its own unique digital fingerprint and if anyone tries to upload it to Facebook, Instagram or Messenger it will be blocked.

Facebook tested the technology out previously in Australia and it’s now being trialled in the UK, America and Canada.

Antigone Davis, Facebook’s Global Head of Safety, told the BBC that naked photos users send in would only be seen by “a very small group”.

These “trained reviewers” carry out the hashing process which gives photos their own unique digital mark and prevents it from being uploaded online.

The code is then stored on a database but the original photos will not be kept.

In a post on the Facebook Safety page, Davis added: “It’s demeaning and devastating when someone’s intimate images are shared without their permission, and we want to do everything we can to help victims of this abuse.

“We’re now partnering with safety organizations on a way for people to securely submit photos they fear will be shared without their consent, so we can block them from being uploaded to Facebook, Instagram and Messenger.

“This pilot program, starting in Australia, Canada, the UK and US, expands on existing tools for people to report this content to us if it’s already been shared.”

For users concerned about a naked photo being shared, Facebook advises people to first get in touch with their partner for the trial.

In the UK it is the Revenge Porn Helpline.

Staff at the organisation will then contact Facebook and users will get sent a link to upload the photo.

Davis added: “People who worry that someone might want to harm them by sharing an intimate image can proactively upload it so we can block anyone else from sharing it on Facebook, Instagram, or Messenger.

“Anyone who fears an intimate image of them may be publicly can contact one of our partners to submit a form.

“After submitting the form, the victim receives an email containing a secure, one-time upload link.

“The victim can use the link to upload images they fear will be shared.

“One of a handful of specifically trained members of our Community Operations Safety Team will review the report and create a unique fingerprint, or hash, that allows us to identify future uploads of the images without keeping copies of them on our servers.

“Once we create these hashes, we notify the victim via email and delete the images from our servers – no later than seven days.

“We store the hashes so any time someone tries to upload an image with the same fingerprint, we can block it from appearing on Facebook, Instagram or Messenger.”



Source link

Mickleach.com is your news, entertainment, music & fashion website. We provide you with the latest news and videos straight from the entertainment industry.

Related posts

Leave a Comment