Europe lockdown: Which countries are in lockdown – Full list | World | News


Countries and territories around the world have implemented enforced lockdowns of varying degrees throughout the duration of the coronavirus pandemic. The World Health Organization recommends curfews and lockdowns be short-term so as to assess how to reorganise, rebalance resources and protect health services. has compiled a full list of all the countries in lockdown.

The coronavirus pandemic has now infected more than 88 million people around the world.

In total, 2.3 million people around the globe have died as a result of the devastating virus.

The USA has reported the highest number of cases, followed by India, Brazil, Russia and then the UK.

A new variant of the novel coronavirus has been found in the UK, South Africa, Denmark and the Netherlands prompting a sharp increase in the rate of infections in these countries.

Many of these countries have opted to toughen restrictions in a bid to protect lives and health services.

READ MORE: Are churches open in lockdown?

The UK

Prime Minister Boris Johnson imposed a third national lockdown in England on January 4.

The lockdown was implemented in response to the new Covid-19 variant and now people are being urged to stay at home as much as possible.

Lockdown measures are also still in effect in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

The English lockdown began on January 4 and is expected to last until at least mid-February.

The three-week national lockdown in Wales was implemented on December 20 and is expected to last until at least February 22.

Scottish First Minister Nicola Sturgeon announced a lockdown in Scotland hours ahead of Mr Johnson.

The lockdown in Scotland is due to remain in effect throughout January.

In Northern Ireland, the lockdown became legally enforceable today and is expected to last for six weeks in total.

Ministers in Northern Ireland will last until February 6, but will be reviewed on January 21.

Coronavirus lockdowns around the world: Which countries in lockdown? [INSIGHT]
Grant Shapps shamed as Britons forced to scramble back from Croatia [EXPLAINER]
Germans ordered to stay at home as borders remain shut due to COVID-19 [ANALYSIS]

Guernsey and Israel

A lockdown was implemented in Guernsey on January 23 and is still ongoing in the region.

The move came after four positive cases were identified in the region. 

In Israel, the lockdown has now been extended despite mass vaccination drive.

Israel began its third lockdown in late December and tightened it on January 8, with officials saying at the time it would be lifted after two weeks if the daily caseload decreased sufficiently.

Israeli barbershops and some other businesses reopened Sunday as the country began easing its third coronavirus lockdown amid an aggressive vaccination campaign.

The Government announced it was lifting some restrictions on Friday.


Ireland could be facing another six weeks of lockdown according to insiders.

Ahead of a Cabinet Committee on Covid-19 next week it has emerged ministers are considering an extension of the highest level of coronavirus regulations until just before St Patrick’s Day.

Such a move by Government would mean non-essential retail will remain closed and household visits will continue to be banned until into the second week of March.

Ministers will examine reopening schools and construction but all other aspects of the economy and society are expected to remain closed until March at the earliest.

READ MORE: Emmanuel Macron’s coronavirus vaccine rollout branded ‘fiasco’

Netherlands, Portugal and Vietnam

People in the Netherland will remain in lockdown up to February 9.

New restrictions have been implemented in Portugal, coming into force from January 20.

People in the country must remain at home, travel only for essentials and work from home when able to do so. 

These rules are expected to remain in effect until at least January 30.

Officials in Vietnam have implemented lockdown restrictions in Hai Duong Province, in the city of Chi Linh.

The lockdown will remain in effect until February 18.

Source link